Oct 012013

UAV5994.cover.273Amanda Maier was greatly admired by Johannes Brahms for both her virtuoso artistry as a violinist and her ambitious, challenging compositions, including her own Violin Sonata. Brahms gave Maier an early edition of his own Third Violin Sonata — and made numerous revisions before publication based on Maier’s advice.

Amanda Maier Meets Johannes Brahms brings together their mutually infuential violin sonatas along with Brahms’ Trio for Violin, Horn and Piano. Elmira Darvarova, the frst female concertmaster of the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, is joined by rising Canadian piano star Bryan Wagorn and, in Brahms’ Horn Trio, New York Philharmonic principal hornPhilip Myers in a rare solo appearance.

This release contains the only recording of the Maier Sonata currently available. The download edition also includes a bonus work not available on CD: Clara Schumann’s 3 Romanzen for piano and violin, Op. 22!

Amanda Maier Meets Johannes Brahms

  1. Brahms: Horn Trio in E-flat Major, Op. 40
  2. Maier: Violin Sonata in b minor
  3. Brahms: Violin Sonata No. 3 in d minor, Op. 108
  4. Bonus tracks in the download edition ONLY — Clara Schumann: 3 Romanzen for piano and violin, Op. 22

Elmira Darvarova, violin • Philip Myers, horn • Bryan Wagorn, piano

Recorded January 6 & 7, 2013 at Bristol Hall, Westminster Choir College, Princeton, NJ
Engineered by John C. Baker
Produced by Gene Gaudette

Urlicht AudioVisual UAV-5984

HD download release date: October 15, 2013

Buy the CD Edition here .

Also available in download formats:

  • Download editions are delivered in .zip format and contain all music files with
    • full metadata,
    • complete liner notes in .pdf format,
    • and .cue sheets and mini-covers for portable players!
  • FLAC is for audiophile portables and home theater systems and requires a FLAC-compatible player
  • iTunes users: download the mp3 to your iTunes directory, unzip, and enjoy!
  • We accept PayPal for download sales. Downloads are delivered by the secure Payloadz service; after purchase, you will receive an e-mail with a direct download link.

Download the High Definition FLAC edition here — $10.99

Download the CD quality FLAC edition here — $9.99

Download the mp3 (VBR 48kHz maximum quality) edition here — $8.99

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.