The Music of Gustav Mahler – Issued 78s, 1903-1940

This collection of every known commercially issued Mahler recording from 1903-40 is one of the most important Mahler issues in recent decades and is very strongly recommended indeed.” — Robert Matthew-Walker, International Record Review, Dec. 2013

Epic… Excellent transfers and exhaustive notes.

This impressive collection of early — very early — Mahler recordings includes symphonies led by the likes of Bruno Walter, Dimitri Mitropoulos, Eugene Ormandy and Willem Mengelberg, often in interpretations more willful and changeable than we are used to today.
– Zachary Woolfe, “2014 Holiday Gift Guide: Best Music,” The New York Times

  • mahlerscanposterized2400The most comprehensive collection ever assembled of Mahler’s music as issued on 78s between 1903 and 1940 — every such recording listed in Péter Fülöp’s Mahler Discography
  • New transfers by Ward Marston and Mark Obert-Thorn
  • Detailed notes on the music, the recording artists, and revelatory information about performances of Mahler’s music prior to World War II by Sybille Werner
  • Full texts and translations
  • Super-value price

Produced by Gene Gaudette
Special thanks to Henry-Louis de La Grange

CD Edition: Urlicht AudioVisual UAV-5980
No longer available, limited to an edition of 1000 copies

Continue reading The Music of Gustav Mahler – Issued 78s, 1903-1940

Amanda Maier Meets Johannes Brahms

Amanda Maier was greatly admired by Johannes Brahms for both her virtuoso artistry as a violinist and her ambitious, challenging compositions, including her own Violin Sonata. Brahms gave Maier an early edition of his own Third Violin Sonata — and made numerous revisions before publication based on Maier’s advice.

Amanda Maier Meets Johannes Brahms brings together their mutually infuential violin sonatas along with Brahms’ Trio for Violin, Horn and PianoElmira Darvarova, the frst female concertmaster of the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, is joined by rising Canadian piano star Bryan Wagorn and, in Brahms’ Horn Trio, New York Philharmonic principal horn Philip Myers in a rare solo appearance.

This release contains the only recording of the Maier Sonata currently availableThe download edition also includes a bonus work not available on CD: Clara Schumann’s 3 Romanzen for piano and violin, Op. 22!

Amanda Maier Meets Johannes Brahms

  1. BrahmsHorn Trio in E-flat Major, Op. 40
  2. MaierViolin Sonata in b minor
  3. BrahmsViolin Sonata No. 3 in d minor, Op. 108

Elmira Darvarova, violin • Philip Myers, horn • Bryan Wagorn, piano

Recorded January 6 & 7, 2013 at Bristol Hall, Westminster Choir College, Princeton, NJ
Engineered by John C. Baker
Produced by Gene Gaudette

Urlicht AudioVisual UAV-5994

CD release date: October 1, 2013